30-Second Read: Helio joins the four-timers club with Indianapolis 500 win


    Helio Castroneves made history by joining A.J. Foyt, Al Unser Sr, and Rick Mears by winning the Indianapolis 500 four times. Castroneves lead the race seven times throughout the 500-mile race. His last time he took the lead was by passing young Alex Palou going into turn one on lap 199. Meyer-Shank Racing also took their first IndyCar Series win.

    The only other driver in contention all day was Connor Daly, who led a race high 40 laps, but damage from a loose tire that fell off Graham Rahal's car impacted him on the front wing, the team did not change the front wing and Daly went on to finish in 13th place. Rahal was in contention late in the race by setting himself up on fuel strategy. On his out lap from a pit stop, his left rear tire fell off, and he careened into the outside wall.

Top 5:

1st: Helio Castroneves 

2nd: Alex Palou

3rd: Simon Pagenaud

4th: Pato O'Ward

5th: Ed Carpenter

Notable Finishers:

10th: Tony Kanaan

12th: Joesf Newgarden

16th: Colton Herta

17th: Scott Dixon

29th: Will Power

30th: Alexander Rossi

    The NTT IndyCar Series has this weekend off. The series will return with the Duel in Detroit at Belle Isle on June 12th and 13th on your local NBC affilate.