NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Playoff Preview


Written by AJ Appeal 

There will be another champion crowned in NASCAR's unique Camping World Truck Series this November, and the playoff field has been set. Similar to the Cup Series, a win during the regular season is essentially a lock into the championship post-season, and the 2021 season is no different. Many feel that regular season champion John Hunter Nemechek is the favourite to win the series title due to his season leading 5 wins. Others indicate that Matt Crafton could become only the second ever 4x champion, tying NASCAR Hall of Famer Ron Hornaday Jr. 

10 Title contenders will compete for the championship with hopes of advancing to the 'Round of 8' in the first three races of the playoffs. The bottom 2 in championship playoffs will be eliminated. Eligible drivers who win during any round in playoffs can also lock themselves into the next round. states 'After the third Playoff race, there will be eight drivers. After the sixth race, only four drivers will remain in championship contention for the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series title.' Point reset occur each round, awarding advancing drivers an additional 1,000 points on their season, but drivers who are eliminated will be reset back to the 2,000 point mark they started with at the beginning of their playoff tour. 

Playoff Schedule - 

Round of 10 : Gateway, CTMP, Bristol

Round of 8 : Las Vegas, Talladega, Martinsville

Championship 4 Finale : Phoenix

The highest finishing driver in the elimination race at Phoenix will be declared champion of the 2021 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series. The 2021 owner's championship will follow the same format. 


2021 Playoff Contenders

John Hunter Nemechek (Regular Season Champion) - 5 Wins
Austin Hill - 2 Wins
Ben Rhodes - 2 Wins
Todd Gilliland - 1 Win
Sheldon Creed - 1 Win
Zane Smith - 0 Wins
Matt Crafton - 0 Wins
Carson Hocevar - 0 Wins
Chandler Smith - 0 Wins 
Stewart Friesen - 0 Wins

Our Team's Championship Predictions To Come...