top of page

NASCAR Championships Settled : Creed , Cindric , and Elliott Crowned Champions

Phoenix, Arizona

The NASCAR championship seasons have formally ended. After what felt like to many in the industry to be the longest season ever as in ran in conjunction with the Covid-19 epidemic, NASCAR managed to return to competition this summer before any major sport. Three winner-takes-all events were held last weekend at Phoenix and three historic champions were crowned.

Sheldon Creed won the NASCAR Gander RV and Outdoors Truck Series Championship after rushing from 8th to 1st in NASCAR Overtime on Friday night. Our team covered the final laps of the event during our live Racing Refresh weekly production. This is his first championship in NASCAR, and second truck-based championship as he also is a past champion in Robby Gordon's truck circuit.

In the Xfinity Series, the winningest driver on the circuit was not the winner, as would be the case in the Cup Series. Chase Briscoe was not able to pull off the feel-good story by winning at Phoenix, instead his rival and fellow Ford driver Austin Cindric won the title under the Team Penske banner. Cindric managed to pass Justin Allgaier with under 2 laps remaining to win.

NASCAR's most popular driver won big on Sunday. Chase Elliott was not always the fastest car, but managed to lead many laps throughout the event. Despite failing pre-race inspection and starting from the rear, his crew is just as deserving for the win. They made no mistakes through the event during pit stops managed to come out first on nearly every pitting cycle. Brad Keselowski appeared to be the fastest car on the track for much of the second half of the event, but several mistakes on pit road resulted in the #2 Ford team not being in contention at the end of the event.

This is the first national touring championship for Creed and Cindric, and the second title for Elliott. Elliott also won the NASCAR Xfinity title in 2014.

NASCAR will resume to on-track competition after the new year rings. The first points-paying event is the 2021 Daytona 500 on February 14th.


bottom of page